hi all,
day three today. a long post today sorry!!!  but I think its an important
one. firstly Steve is walking alone today as I am under strict instructions to
rest. I am in the early stages of treatment and need to be very careful. I
didn't want to sit it out today but I know I need to. I am sore and slow this morning
but in good spirits - After today I will  be ready to go for our last two legs
over Friday and Saturday! Steve is well and was ready to  go again today. He
left at 7:20am this morning  and is walking from Mt Eliza to Chelsea. it is a
little bit wet with drizzle so just hoping it improves for him. 

Steve has asked me to say that he will be thinking about carers today -the job they do
and the things they have to deal with because someone they know has developed
Lyme disease. 

Through our campaign  we have spoken about how this illness has impacted on Michelle's life but it has had an enourmous impact on Steve too.....

I have often thought that it would be especially tough to endure the changes and losses we have had to endure for Steve as he was fit and healthy! Often as a carer, Steve said he felt like he had to do this quietly
because if he said something to me he knew it would make me feel worse. I  felt 
(and still do) feel bad about the impact of my illness on our lives. We have
lost a lot. We speak about this sometimes and we just try to make sure he has
some time to do the things that are important to him. I support his interests
100% as I know he has suffered, struggled and lost so much through this illness
too. 

Pressures that naturally occur when someone develops a serious
illness we felt were strained further because of the very little recognition and
uncertianty about Lyme disease here In Australia.  We have heard many sad
stories of family and relationship breakdowns and also stories of financial ruin
due to the impact of Lyme Disease.  We can understand how this can happen. 
 
I  am greatful for the strength and determination Steve has showed and
the support he has given to me.  I think his walking today signifies those
qualities! The impact of Lyme is pretty devestating on so many levels and not
everyone is able to withstand them sadly. I know I am lucky that Steve was able
to find a way to stay with me and get through what we have had to endure.  We
still have a long road ahead and I hope we can continue to do so.

So in sharing some of our story today we hope to acknowledge some of the hard work,
the fight and sacrifices that goes with supporting a loved one with Lyme Disease. 

Please consider making a donation to KMMF so that they can
continue  working  towards better education and research in Australia. 
clik on the KMMF tab at the top of this page. 

(Sorry about typos very tired today and my editor is out walking)



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Michelle and Steve Kelly are walking to raise awareness and funding for research for Tick Borne Infections in Australia. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All